texts, written thoughts

Today is today

This weekend I learned a really important life lesson. I had to spend three days at the Hospital (nothing bad, I’m fine again) and I shared my room with a 44 year old woman. Seven years ago she lost the ability to speak and had to learn it all over again. Before that she spoke many languages and was working in the international economy sector, now she is struggling to speak her mother tongue. 

Also the right part of her body is paralyzed. She can’t walk anymore nor can she wash herself, eat without help and is totally dependent to her husband. You would think someone like her has the right to be depressed. But honestly this woman is one of the most positive humans I’ve ever met in my life. Every day she said this to me:

Today is today.

And tomorrow is tomorrow.

And yesterday is in the past.

No matter what had happened to her she was always smiling, singing and being joyful. She never complained about anything and made so many people, the nurses, the doctors and me realise what it means to be thankful.

There are many times when we think it’s all to much and we can’t face it anymore and life just sucks. But every time I feel to much pressure or feel sad or unhappy I now want to remember what this powerful woman taught me:

Today is today.

And tomorrow is tomorrow.

And yesterday is in the past.
© An Overthinker

Standard

Leave a Reply

